Jump to contentJump to search

Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot is an international competition in which students act as lawyers in simulated arbitration proceedings and compete with each other in teams. As in "real life", the students exchange their legal arguments first in the form of briefs and subsequent in oral hearings on an international level. The focus of the Willem C. Vis Moot is on problems arising from arbitration law as well as the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. Is the arbitral tribunal competent to rule on the matter? Are the delivered goods defective? Which law is applicable? Questions like these are on the agenda in the largest and most renowned English-language moot court competition in international business law. Each year more than 350 teams from around 80 different jurisdictions participate.

Further information can be found on the website of the Düsseldorf Moot Association e.V. (DMA) or on the Instagram page or LinkedIn page.

The Vis Team of the University of Düsseldorf is led by Prof. Dr. Katharina Lugani and Prof. Dr. Christian Kersting, LL.M. (Yale). The supervisors of the team, and , are at your disposal as contact persons.

Successful participation results in the acquisition of a:

  • Free semester/foreign language teaching of at least 16 SWS certificate according to § 25 Abs. 2 Nr. 5 JAG NRW
  • Seminar certificate according to § 5 Abs. 2 Nr. 4 SchwPO
  • Foreign language certificate / proof of attendance of a foreign language law course certificate according to § 7 Abs. 1 Nr. 4 JAG NRW

General information on the Willem C. Vis Moot can also be found in the attached presentation (German only).

The Vis Moot Court Teams

The current team consists of Nadia Aglan, Adara Debus, Naomi Heckenthaler, Mattes Hoffmann and Mieke Müller. It is coached by Lukas Liebermann and Mykyta Shchupak. As last year, the academic management is in the hands of Prof. Dr. Katharina Lugani and Prof. Dr. Christian Kersting, LL.M. (Yale).

(f.l.t.r.: Mattes Hoffmann, Prof. Dr. Katharina Lugani, Mieke Müller, Lukas Liebermann, Naomi Heckenthaler, Mykyta Shchupak, Nadia Aglan, Adara Debus, Prof. Dr. Christian Kersting, LL.M. (Yale))

Responsible for the content: