Jump to contentJump to search
Chairs and Institutes at the Faculty of Law

Chairs and Institutes at the Faculty of Law

18 professors are engaged in teaching and research at the Faculty of Law of Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf; ten institutes are centres of academic work with close ties to everyday law practice. 22 honorary professors and about 60 lecturers, who contribute their practical experience as judges and lawyers, support the teaching curriculum.

Please find below an overview of all professorships, chairs and institutes at the Faculty of Law.

(Further information and the addresses of these institutions can be found on the German-language homepages here or please contact us at the Dean’s Office.)

Professorships and chairs in Civil Law
  • Chair of Private Law and Intellectual Property Law
    Prof. Dr. Jan Busche
  • Professor of Private Law, Labour Law and Comparative Law
    Prof. Dr. Andreas Feuerborn
  • Chair of Private Law, German and International Business Law
    Prof. Dr. Christian Kersting, LL.M. (Yale)
  • Chair of Private Law, Private International Law and Comparative Law
    Prof. Dr. Dirk Looschelders
  • Chair of Private Law, Commercial Law and Business Law
    Prof. Dr. Ulrich Noack
  • Chair for Civil Law, German and European Competition Law
    Prof. Dr. Rupprecht Podszun
  • Chair of Private Law and Civil Procedure
    Prof. Dr. Katharina Hilbig-Lugani
  • Professor of Private Law, Civil Procedure and Commercial Law
    Prof. Dr. Nicola Preuß
Professorships and chairs in Public Law
  • Chair of Public Law and Theory of Administration
    Prof. Dr. Johannes Dietlein
  • Chair of Corporate Tax Law
    Prof. Dr. Matthias Valta
  • Chair of German and Foreign Public Law,
    European Law and Public International Law
    Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kreuter-Kirchhof
  • Chair of Public Law, Art and Cultural Law
    Prof. Dr. Sophie Schönberger
  • Professor of Public Law
    Prof. Dr. Lothar Michael
Professorships and chairs in Criminal Law
  • Chair of Criminal Law, Business Criminal Law and Media Law
    Prof. Dr. Karsten Altenhain
  • Chair of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure
    Prof. Dr. Helmut Frister
  • Professor of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure, Juvenile Criminal Law, Sanctions and Criminology
    Prof. Dr Horst Schlehofer    
Junior professorships
  • Junior professor for Economic Law
    Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jannik Otto
  • Junior professor for Public Law, especially Artificial Intelligence
    Jun.-Prof. Dr. Johann-Justus Vasel

Birgit Lindemann
Telephone: +49 211 81-11414
Fax: +49 211 81-11431

Responsible for the content: